Once a cheater….

Prepare to hear the worst love story ever written.

I met my (ex) boyfriend 3 years ago on Black Friday. He was dating my best friends little sister. He pursued me, and I did everything I could to resist, until I just couldn’t say  no anymore. We met up (and hooked up) and began a pseudo relationship all while his real relationship was going on.

Fast forward about 8 months. He dumped the girlfriend. Asked me out. I said no about a million times until, again, I couldn’t resist anymore. I had fallen in love. He swore he would never do what he did to her to me. And I believed him.

Then, just under 3 years of dating, I find out he did it. He cheated on me with my friend’s roommate. (Ready for the kicker- ALL MY FRIENDS KNEW and never told me. They continued passing it along for months until someone had the balls to let me know). He had done it a year ago and lied to me for a year. I was furious. We broke up immediately and I stopped talking to all my friends.

I don’t think I had ever been more depressed in my life. All he did was make-out with her. When he left her car he realized he fucked up and never spoke to her again. I slowly began letting him back into my life. He told me everything- offered to show me messages between them and all. So this is where my readers come in. WHAT WOULD YOU DO, WORLD? He promised to go to couples therapy (and pay for it with his insurance…) and to get sex therapy (because I truly, madly, deeply believe he is a sex addict and cannot say no). I know you don’t know everything about our relationship, but just based on the basics. 3 years of love. 3 years of memories. 3 years of happiness. Do I throw it all away for one mistake? One mistake that he (eventually..) owned up to. One mistake that  he is willing to go to therapy for?

This one mistake has made our communication so much stronger. We talk more than ever and open up to each other on a deeper level. Part of me thinks this mistake changed our relationship for the better. Without it, we would continue on with our superfluous lives, saying we love each other and can work through anything but never actually growing together. So, what would you do?

8 thoughts on “Once a cheater….

  1. This is always a tricky subject to come to an opinion on! I think it truly is something that can only be experienced between the two people involved in the relationship and no one can make a judgement or comment on what they would do. Theory never matches up to practice when it comes to relationships and hearts don’t always align with our minds. I’m so happy to see it’s helped your relationship. I’ve experienced situations where I’ve been let down in my current relationship and the conversations we have now are also much more open and lighter hearted. We respect that we are humans and things go wrong sometimes. It’s how you deal with it and move on from it whether that’s as a couple or not! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my friends who knew he cheated on me with the first girl also had a thing with him herself a few years before (when I was with him). I just found out about two months ago. It seems like the lies and secrets never end, but blocking him has been my saving grace

    Like

Leave a comment